Artist Interview: Erica Wallen

Today’s interview is with Erica Wallen, bassist for Scarlet White! Read on:


SOM: Could you please introduce yourself for the blog? bill_jacomet

Erica Wallen: This is Erica, the bass player from the band Scarlet White.

SOM: What song is currently stuck in your head?

EW: What If, by Creed.

SOM: What would your dream tour lineup be and where would you go?

EW: I think my personal dream tour lineup would have to include Creed, Chevelle, Skillet, and Lifehouse (Totally random lineup, ha!) and I would want to hit every state in the U.S., then maybe travel abroad to either Russia or Australia!

SOM: What album/artist/song is your “guilty pleasure”?

EW: Ever since I was a kid I’ve been a huge fan of Kenny Chesney, so probably any album or song by him!

SOM: When you’re not working on music, what do you like to do?

EW: I like to spend most of my time outside if it’s warm!

SOM: If you were stuck on a deserted island and could only listen to one album, what album would it be and why?

EW: The Earth is Not a Cold Dead Place by Explosions In The Sky. If I was on a deserted island, I feel like eventually I would get tired of something that had lyrics, so only an instrumental album would be nice!

SOM: What job or career did you want to have as a child? Did you (at an early age) ever see yourself becoming a musician?

EW: When I was a kid, I actually didn’t want a career as strange as that sounds! I always said I wanted to stay home and raise a family. I never imagined myself becoming a musician, or working in the music industry at all. God uses people in ways we never expect, so I obviously credit Him with where I am today.

ayKFzEtG

SOM: What and where has the weirdest venue you’ve ever played been?

EW: There was a venue we played once in the Chicago area. There were some strange happenings that went on while we were there!

SOM: If you were an animal, what would you be and why?

EW: I would probably be a cat. They always seem to do things on their own terms, and they can get away with sleeping in sunny spots all day!

SOM: What advice would you give to a new musician trying to get into the music industry?

EW: Work hard! Be nice! Rarely do things in the music industry just fall in your lap, it takes years and years of hard work, practice, and money. If it’s something that someone truly wants to pursue, be prepared to sacrifice a lot for the music industry. It’s definitely not an easy path, but hard work sometimes does pay off. The gratification is much higher when you see your hard work transformed into a song or album, then watching those things have positive effects on the people who listen to them!


 

We would like to thank Erica for participating in this interview!

Follow Scarlet White on all social media platforms to stay up-to-date with news, releases, and tour dates!

Leave a Reply

