Artist Interview: Tony Lucas

Check out our latest interview with Tony from the Dallas-based nu-metal outfit, We Are Band Nerds!

SOM: Can you please introduce yourself for the blog?
 
Tony: My name is Tony, the second rapper/songwriter in We Are Band Nerds.
 
SOM: What got you started in music?
Tony: A older cousin of mine got me started. When I was 13 years old, I used to beatbox for him while he would freestyle rap. I was introduced to the world of music production and songwriting through him and that is where my love for music began.
 
SOM: When did you know that you wanted to be a musician?
Tony: In high school, when I had a chance to perform in front of my entire school during a pep rally, I knew I craved to be on stage performing in front of people.  I feel the same rush of excitement, anxiety, and adrenaline every time I get on stage.
SOM: If you could tour with any artist(s), who would it be?Hig res 1.png
Tony: I would like to tour with Deftones, Limp Bizkit, Twenty One Pilots or Kanye West.
SOM: What is your favorite part about being a musician?
 
Tony: For me, it’s the creative process, the song writing, looking of inspiration and coming up with a awesome melody or music idea is my favorite part.
 
SOM: Where do you get your inspiration for writing songs?
 
Tony: Everywhere, daily situations in life, poetry, history, science, whatever I happen to be doing at the time or feeling at the time could be used in a song. 
 
SOM: When you’re not on the road touring or recording, what do you like to do?
Tony: I enjoy reading, working out, and keeping up with politics. But music, performing and working with my band takes up most of my time.
 
SOM: If you could headline any festival, which festival would you choose? What other bands would you want to play?
 
Tony: Download Festival with Deftones, Korn, Kendrick Lamar, Denzel Curry, N.E.R.D, and The Prodigy.
 
SOM: Where do you see the Band Nerds going in the next 5 years?
 
Touring. Lots of traveling and performing our music to new audiences.
 
SOM: If you were stuck on a desert island and could only listen to one album, what album would you choose?
 
Tony: Mahavishnu Orchestra -Visions of the Emerald Beyond
 
SOM: Where can people hear your music or find out more about you?

Thanks to Tony and Yvonne for setting up this interview!

Thanks for reading this post and if you have any ideas regarding the blog, shoot them at me either via the contact button at the top of the screen or via Twitter/Facebook/Pinterest/Google+!

Be sure to subscribe for more interviews and reviews!

Leave a Reply

