Artist Interview: Blake Allison

Devour The Day is a Memphis-based hard rock group founded by Blake Allison and Joey “Chicago” Walser in 2012. Currently out on the Unleashed Tour with headliners Skillet and Sick Puppies, the bands are bringing their distinctive sounds to various stops across the United States. Guess where the Unleashed Tour came?

For the first time in six years, Skillet came back to Maine!

Despite the negative-degree weather, the multiple hour drives, and the various blizzards we’re having this week, the show’s turnout was great!

Sound Of Madness Blog got to go and interview the lead singer of opening act Devour The Day- Blake Allison!

For the first time ever, you can both read and watch our interview!

Read it below:


SOM Blog: I’m Natalie Brennan from Sound Of Madness Blog and I’m here with…

Blake Allison: Blake.

16508701_433650460359769_8391253387247370885_nSOM: From Devour The Day! We are at the State Theatre in Portland, Maine for the Unleashed Tour with Skillet, Sick Puppies, and Devour The Day.

How has touring with Sick Puppies and Skillet been?

BA: This is our second show so we’ll find out. *Laughs*

SOM: Were you guys on the first leg of the tour with Thousand Foot Krutch?

BA: Yeah!

SOM: How was that?

BA: It was really fun. The Skillet people are really nice, and it was nice to get to know the Thousand Foot Krutch guys, as we’ve been fans of theirs for awhile.

SOM: Awesome!

What was the first moment when you realized that you made it as a band?

BA: Ummmm… Well, I don’t think we’ve made it yet. *Laughs* You know? I think that we realized that the band was good when we started to write for Devour The Day and we realized that we were already on a whole different project. The feeling that this is much more honest and true to us as musicians. I think that was enough-more than the recognition, that we were creating something with substance to it.

100_3731SOM: If we looked at your iPod or your digital music collection, what would the most surprising band or artist be?

BA: That’s a good one. Huey Lewis and the News. That’s my jam.

SOM: What is one item you cannot tour without?

BA: Instruments.

SOM: Well, that makes a lot of sense.

Both: *Laughs*

 

79240bad-4d67-4490-82bd-fe12fe0b257b.jpg
Devour The Day

 

SOM: If you were stuck on a deserted island and could only listen to one album, what album would it be and why? This is always the hardest question.

BA: Yeah… so I’m stuck on a desert island?

SOM: Yes!

BA: I would really like, uhhh…. maybe…. uhhh.

Ahhhh, gosh, that’s such a good question.

SOM: *Laughs*

2017-02-12_1302.png
Taken from Skillet’s Instagram @skilletmusic

BA: It’s like picking your favorite child. When you have multiple children, if you pick one, the others won’t think they’re as good. So… Um… You know today there’s Spotify so..

 

SOM: So just Spotify Premium!

BA: The only way I’d be stuck on a desert island with one record is if I had a cd player and a cd.

SOM: True.

BA: So, I think like if I had an iPod… that’s what the question was, right? One album on an iPod?

SOM: Yes.

BA: Uhhhhhhh….You know, our first record- not that I would listen to our own jam BUT there’s a bunch of music on there that’s about being stuck in prison. And an island would be like a prison so- not that I would listen to it, but I would have it just to remind myself that I can get off this island.

SOM: That works! I had one guy tell me, he’s like “Can’t I just have a compilation [album]? Wouldn’t that work?” I’m like “Yeah, I suppose that works.” 100_3746

 

BA: *Laughs* Spider-Man 2 Soundtrack.

SOM: There you go!

Let’s see… who in the band takes the longest to get ready for a show?

BA: We’re all really quick.

SOM: Oh, really?

BA: Yeah… so nobody does their hair or their make up or anything like that.

SOM: That definitely helps

BA: I think we’re all tied for that. It’s just pants, shoes, shirt, go!

SOM: Who gets lost the easiest?

BA:  David.

SOM: Who would you say is the most talented in the band? You can include yourself.

BA: Hmmm… I’d say we’re all pretty even.100_3727

SOM: Who complains the most?

BA: Uh, Joey.

Both: *Laughs*

SOM: Who’s the prankster of the band?

BA: I feel like I’m going to get in trouble after this.. Who’s the prankster….I think David is the prankster. But he just pranks with like, farts and stuff like that. So it’s not really a prank, it’s just rude.

SOM: Who has the best attitude?

BA: Best attitude… I think that would be… myself. I get one.

SOM: There you go! You can include yourself!

Who can not function without coffee?

BA: Ronnie. *Laughs* None of us can function without coffee, but Ronnie goes into a state of immobility. Like, paralyzed.

SOM: Yeah, my mom when she doesn’t have coffee, she throws up, so I understand where you’re coming from.

Who is the worst driver?

BA: Joey.

100_3758.JPGSOM: Where do you see the band going in the next couple years?

BA: Uhh, I’m hoping we’ll go over seas. We’re going to be touring a lot and working on another record so I think that it’s just a question of how the next record goes and making it. We’re really excited about that so I can see it going really well. So that’s [going really well] is what I would say.

SOM: Who would dream tour be and where would you go?

PA: Uhhh… Skillet, Sick Puppies, Portland, Maine.

SOM: Whoa!! That’s awesome!

BA: So I’m living the dream, right now!

Both: *Laughs*

SOM: What advice would you give to someone trying to make it into the music industry?

BA: Learn how to make your own records. And learn how to play everything. Write your own music, write your own lyrics, record your own band. I think that’s the key to being a musician nowadays.

SOM: Thank you for that answer cause I had one person tell me when I asked them that question, “The main thing is- Don’t suck”.

BA: *Laughs* That’s a big part of it. Well, I guess that isn’t that true nowadays. There are some [bands] that suck. You can suck- as long as someone puts enough money behind your band, it doesn’t matter if you suck or not. You’ll “make it”. You might be known for being awful.. but at least you made it.

SOM: Yeah! Like, we’re not going to say Justin Bieber or anything.

What should we expect for tonight’s show?

BA: We’re going to play our fastest, loudest, most energetic songs and then we’re going to get off stage. So tonight’s show is going to be fun, it’s going to sweaty, it’s going to be dirty, weird, so I hope you’re ready for that.

100_3811

 

SOM: I’m ready for it!

BA: We’re gonna go and play some music.

SOM: Awesome!

That’s all I have for questions so self-promote yourself and the band.

BA: Devour The Day out with Sick Puppies and Skillet for the Unleashed Tour. February/March, going everywhere- all the way to the West coast and back to the east coast. We’ll see you out there!

SOM: That’s all. Thank you so much!!

Catch Devour The Day out on tour right now!

Follow Devour The Day on social media @devourtheday.

Purchase Devour The Day’s latest album S.O.A.R wherever music is sold.

Save

Leave a Reply

