THE LOST ARTIST INTERVIEW: Manwell Reyes

Dear SOM Blog followers and readers:

I have something to admit…

I lost an interview

I literally lost an interview.

I had a completed interview done and ready to be transcribed into blog post format.

Guess what?

It got buried beneath stuff in my Facebook Messenger and I forgot about it….

Until now.

So, straight from my Facebook Messenger inbox (a truly terrifying place), our interview with Manwell Reyes from GROUP 1 CREW!


maxresdefault

Manwell Reyes: I’m Manwell Reyes. I’m married to an amazing woman Anjelah Johnson. I live in LA, but born in Germany. I love music, fashion and people not in that order lol. I’m in a place where I’m living life to the fullest cause I realize that everyday and every breath is a blessing so I want to use them to enjoy life. I’m passionate about helping sex trafficking victims with an organization called Unlikely Heroes. And I hope that I leave a legacy worthy of the history books.

Sound Of Madness Blog: Could you talk about little about your new album, Power?

MR: My new album is simply a collection of thoughts from this past year of solitude. Since my voice got hurt and I had to do surgery it was pretty hard to believe that I was still going to be able to do music. But there was something about trusting that Gods power can do anything in me and so I anjelah-fkept believing. Now I don’t really care what it is that I do. Music or just being a husband, as long as the power of God is with me I’m good.

SOM: Who are your biggest musical influences?

MR: Biggest influences are the old school cats like Frank Sinatra.

 SOM: What is your favorite/most meaningful lyric (that you have written)?

MR: Fave lyric…hmmm.. There’s a ton but off this new record the second verse of the song I wrote called “Mona Lisa” is my fave.
You’ll have to wait and see what it is.

 indexSOM: Is there any new music coming out this year that you are excited for? (Besides your own album, haha!)

MR: Don’t really pay attention to new music. Just stick with the old. If I happen to find something new then great but I’m just old school

 SOM: If you were stuck on a desert island and could only listen to one album, what album would it be and why?

MR: Frank Sinatra greatest hits. Always takes me away and makes me feel like I’m in a movie 😊 .

SOM: What is your favorite Bible verse?

MR: Philippians 1:6.

SOM: If you could play a show with any musicians/bands (living or dead), who would you choose and where would you play?

MR: Michael Jackson in Paris .

920x1240

SOM: What is one food or drink that you cannot go a day without?

MR: Rice and Jamba Juice smoothie.

SOM: If you were any Disney character, who would you be and why?

MR: Simba! Great qualities of a king. Humble, insecure but stepped up when he was needed.

 SOM: What is your advice to new musicians?

MR: Be great at what you do. Study to show yourself approved. Your talent will bring you before kings but trust that it’s Gods grace that will keep you there.


Get Group 1 Crew’s album Power anywhere music is sold!

Thanks for reading this post and if you have any ideas regarding the blog, shoot them at me either via the contact button at the top of the screen or via Twitter/Facebook/Pinterest/Google+!

Be sure to subscribe for more interviews and reviews!

Save

Leave a Reply

