Changing My 2017 with Skillet

Ahh, a new year. A year that’s not 2016. The year that Obama finally leaves office.

As you may know, it’s January. What comes with January?

Diets, resolutions, trying new things, Trump, changing things in your life (or at least trying to).

And that’s what I’m doing. I am going to change some things in my life this year.

It’s the typical things: I’m going to be more confident. I’m going to be successful. I’m going to get a job. I’m going to get in shape, eat right, and lose weight.

Emphasis on going to.

But where the heck I am going to get motivation?

Well, let’s go back to Sound Of Madness Blog’s roots.

Music.

Sure, I have other stronger motivational factors. Those are long-term goals. Music motivates me to do things at that moment. Having a six-pack is a great motivator for doing situps, but listening to a great song will help you push through it (even when you don’t want to).

So if I had to choose a band that motivates me the most this year (2017), who would it be?

The answer would be the band that got me into rock music. That would be Skillet.

13240740_10153759134323720_8104545732909823479_n.jpg

Let’s go over four of their songs:

AWAKE AND ALIVE: When I’m struggling with my faith.

I’m awake, I’m alive
Now I know what I believe inside
Now it’s my time
I’ll do what I want ’cause this is my life
here (right here), right now (right now)
I’ll stand my ground and never back down
I know what I believe inside
I’m awake and I’m alive

SICK OF IT: When I need a reminder of why I want to change.

No one can make this better
Take control, it’s now or never!

Are you sick of it?
Raise your hands,
Get rid of it!
While there’s a fighting chance.
Are you over it?
Bored to death?
Have you had enough regret?
Take a stand, raise your hands…

If you’re sick of it!

WHISPERS IN THE DARK: When I feel alone.

No
You’ll never be alone
When darkness comes I’ll light the night with stars
Hear the whispers in the dark
No
You’ll never be alone
When darkness comes you know I’m never far
Hear the whispers in the dark
Whispers in the dark

I WANT TO LIVE:

Fresh off of their latest album Unleashed, “I Want To Live” is an extremely motivating song for me. The song reminds me of Comatose-2006-era Skillet. The lyrics are moving. The song made me realize that if I want to live my life, I have to stop letting great experiences pass because of my fears. If I want to change, it’s up to me.

I want to live my life
The choice is mine, I’ve made up my mind
Now, I’m free to start again
The way I want to live (to live) and breathe (and breathe)
The way I want that’s right for me
I may not know nothing else
But I know this, I want to live


What is your motivation for this year? What are some of your goals? Are you going to make an effort to change this year?


Thanks for reading this post and if you have any ideas regarding the blog, shoot them at me either via the contact button at the top of the screen or via Twitter/Facebook/Pinterest!

It looks like we should have about 5-7 interviews this month so be sure to subscribe for more!

Save

Save

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

