Artist Interview: Trevor McNevan

I was giving the most awesome experience of interviewing one of the most powerful bands in my life: Thousand Foot Krutch.

Thousand Foot Krutch and their amazing publicist Mr. Hoganson incredibly set this up for me. TFK is extremely busy right now as they kick off their new album, EXHALE, which I have addressed in other posts. I interviewed Trevor McNevan, TFK’s front man, on May 26th, 2016, via email. Read the interview below:

TFK (2).jpg
From L to R: Steve Augustine, Trevor McNevan, and Joel Bruyere.

Introduction:

TM: Hey! I’m Trevor McNevan, vocalist/guitarist & songwriter for the band Thousand Foot Krutch (TFK). Nice to meet you!

1. Can you talk a little about EXHALE? 

TM: Yes! Our last record INHALE our new album EXHALE were always intended to be a two-part story. There’s always been heavier, more aggressive moments and heartfelt quieter moments on our albums, so the idea was that INHALE would give us a chance to diver deeper into the quieter side, and EXHALE would focus more on the aggressive side. I love this album. We can’t wait to share it with you!

2. If you could play a show with any (multiple) musicians/bands (living or dead), who would you choose and where would you play?

TM: Man. That’s a tough one! There’s so many powerful artists who’ve inspired us and changed music for the better over the years. We’ve been fortunate enough to play with a lot of our powerful Rock family from bands like Soundgarden and Alice in Chains, to Guns ‘n’ Roses and Alice Cooper.  So outside of Rock, I’d say Jay Z, Coldplay & U2 to name a few. I’m inspired by artists that have a powerful connection with their audience.

3. Who are your biggest musical influences? a72b173fe726aea1fb9883c39b2661c7.jpg

TM: I grew up on underground Hip Hop and classic Rock. We had one classic Rock station in my hometown. So those two things will always bleed into what we do.

Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Etc., all the way to A Tribe Called Quest & Eric B & Rakim! It’s helped me to appreciate a great song in any genre.  Everyone in the band loves and appreciates a wide variety of music. A good song’s a good song.

4. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only listen to one album, what album would it be and why?

TM: I like A LOT of albums, but my favorite song of all time has to be “Walking In Memphis” by Marc Cohn. It’s the definition of a perfectly written song. Not easy to achieve!

5. What is your favorite Bible verse?

TM: I think I’d say 2 Corinthians 5:7

“For we live by faith, and not by sight.”

____________________________________________________________

I cannot wait to see what TFK will do this year! I already have my tickets to a show and I am super excited! Check if Thousand Foot Krutch is playing near you on their website, http://thousandfootkrutch.com/

Thousand Foot Krutch’s new album, EXHALE, drops June 17th, 2016. Pick a copy up at any music store or get it on iTunes. You can still pre-order the autographed copies of EXHALE now at Amazon.

Check out their new music video for “Running With Giants”:

Thanks for reading!

If you enjoyed this interview, like, share, and comment below!

Have a good idea for an interview? Do you have a question for your favorite artist? Send me your ideas using our Contact page above!

Save

Save

2 Comments

  1. I really like your post. I will get back on your website in the next few days and i will promote it to my facebook group. I think most of our group member will like it. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

