Artist Interview: Nathaniel DeLeon

 

This week, I was given the honor of interviewing Nathaniel DeLeon. Nathaniel is the bassist of the band Chasing The Light. I met Nathaniel at a youth conference in November of last year (2015). He is an amazing musician and an extremely nice person. It was a pleasure to work with him.
12805965_1011436402254765_484372329242292088_n
Photo credit: Kristyn York

1. How did you get into music? How did Chasing The Light start?

ND: I grew up with music all around me. From my father’s gospel records to my mother’s southern gospel, there was always something on the stereo. When I was twelve I started playing drums in church and from there I tried out as many instruments as I could. When I was in high school I made my first attempts at song writing. I was always interested in writing poetry and that translated well into song writing. I made my first attempts at recording on my school laptop, and decided to show my friends. By this time I had met Jonathan and Abe and we had started what would eventually become Chasing the Light with another one of our friends, Lucas Longoria. Back in those days I was the drummer, but as the lineup evolved I moved to the bass guitar and Aaron joined as the drummer. With the lineup cemented, we started playing shows to support our first EP, “First Transmissions”. At that point it never occurred to me that we were going to get to play some of the shows we did. It was crazy sharing stages with cool bands like Remedy Drive and the City Harmonic, and it was such a thrill to see people singing along to our songs and coming out so support us like they did in the beginning. It was so heartening for us.
2. Who are your biggest musical influences?
ND: Until I was in middle school I had never really heard any rock music. My first favorite band was Third Day. I loved their record Time and later Wire. I think at one point I had every one of their CDs. Later as I got more into discovering bands I started loving alternative bands like Switchfoot, Anberlin, and Underoath. Now that I’m older my taste has become so diverse. I like music from Coldplay to August Burns Red. Hip hop, electronic, folk, chill, it all interests me in different ways. It has definitely influenced the songs I write. I try to keep the more alternative pop songs I write for CTL, and have other projects that I am funneling my other songs into. Right now I am writing for a project that is going to be more laid back, almost soft rock, with very organic sounds. I’ve also tossed around the idea of doing a more electronic worship project with Jon, who is an amazing producer. I’ve really been influenced by working with him. We have a great work flow together. I also picked up a lot of stuff in the studio from Jon Wyman who produced our newest EP. He has so much knowledge of what it takes to get great songs in that environment.
3. Is there any music that is coming out this year that you are excited for?
ND: NEEDTOBREATHE, Switchfoot, and Relient K are all putting out new records that I can’t wait to hear.
12227224_951874414877631_774352117320045291_n
Photo credit: Kristyn York

 

4. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only listen to one album, what album would it be and why?
ND: This answer would probably change every week. Right now I love Volcano Chior’s album Repave.
5. If you could play a show with any (multiple) musicians/bands (living or dead), who would you choose and where would you play?
ND: I’d love to play with Jon Foreman someday.
6. You played Soulfest last year; what was that like?
ND: Soulfest was really fun! We were blessed to play the Inside Out Stage which was managed by our good friend Brian Sawyer, so it was great to see him. We had to catch a flight right after our set so we didn’t get to stay very long after, so that was a little disappointing, but we had a great time while we were there. We had a pretty early slot so it was really cool to see so many people come out to support us so early.
7. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
ND: Mexican!
8. What is your favorite/most comforting Bible verse?
ND: “The fear of the Lord is the instruction of wisdom; and before honour is humility.” Proverbs 15:33
12226979_956463097752096_8445769067943743365_n
Chasing The Light (From L to R): Nathaniel Deleon (Bass), Aaron O’Neil (Drums), Abraham Stephens (Vocals/Guitars), and Jonathan Stephens (Keys/Synth).

 

9.  Any shows you’re looking forward to playing this year? Any shows you’re excited to go see?
ND: Last year I had tickets to go see the Tour de Compadres with NEEDTOBREATHE, Switchfoot, Drew Holcombe & the Neighbors, and Colony House on the ticket, and I missed it because of a delayed flight, and that was such a bummer. So when NEEDTOBREATHE announced that they were going to be doing another Tour de Compadres with some of my favorite artists Mat Kearny and John Mark McMillan I got tickets immediately!
10. Can we expect some new music anytime soon?
ND: I’m happy to say that we do have some new stuff in the works and it shouldn’t be long before new Chasing the Light music is released!


Like Chasing The Light on Facebook at Chasing The Light.
Follow Chasing The Light on Instagram @Officialctl.
Follow Chasing The Light on Twitter  @Officialctlband
Purchase their EP- First Transmissions- on iTunes!
Check out their website at chasingthelightband.com/!

 

Leave a Reply

